Carrot Cake

THIS WAS SOOO. GOOOOD. When I was little, my brother Mikey and I were always grossed out by the idea of carrot cake. Carrot was a vegetable, something that you might dip into some ranch dip or eat in pancit, but that was it. To imagine carrot mixed with butter and sugar was completely beyond our tiny brains.

I think it was in UP’s Chocolate Kiss Cafe that I first had a life-changing experience with carrot cake. Their version was incredibly moist and delicious. Well, everything from Choco Kiss is guaranteed yummy anyway. I’ll probably try and get there during my upcoming Philippine vacay. It used to be my favorite date place. Sulit kasi sa iced tea tsaka sa daily special. Hehehe.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to take any pictures of it! :( So, here I have a Google Images picture (from lowcalorieideas.com) which works just fine. I mean, carrot cake will always look the same, I suppose. This was really, really good. ♥

Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting
dry ingredients:
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground dried ginger (around 1 tsp fresh grated ginger)
pinch of salt

2 eggs
1/2 cup oil
1 cup sugar
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups shredded carrots

optional:
around 1/2 cup chopped nuts (walnuts, pecans would work)

cream cheese frosting:
4 oz (half a package) of cream cheese
2 tbsp softened butter
around 1/3 to 1/2 cup sugar — powdered would be nice, but I didn’t have any
1 tbsp honey
1/2 tsp vanilla
pinch cinnamon

Directions:
1. Use a grater to shred your carrots to make around 1 1/2 cups. I used about a third of a 3-lb bag of baby carrots.(which was such a pain because they were so tiny!) Listen to some music or watch some TV to keep you going while you work your arm muscles!

2. Preheat the oven to 350 F (180 C). Grease a cake pan with some butter. Add some flour and shake to coat all sides. Tap out any excess flour.

3. Measure out and combine all the dry ingredients (except the sugar) in a medium bowl. I like my carrot cake kind of spice-y so I put cloves and a little bit of ground ginger.

4. In a large bowl, use an electric mixer to beat the eggs, oil, sugar, and vanilla together until smooth and slightly thick. Add all the dry ingredients at once and mix well to combine. Add the shredded carrots and nuts (if using). Pour into the prepped cake pan.

5. Bake in the oven for about 40-45 minutes, or until a toothpick (personally, I use a chopstick) poked in the center comes out crumby and not wet. Let the cake cool in the pan.

6. Mash up the cream cheese and butter together. Add sugar and honey to your sweetness preference (I thought the cake batter was pretty sweet already). Add vanilla and cinnamon and mix well. Spread this over the top of your cooled cake. Chill before serving and slicing.

7. Yay! You have made carrot cake. This is really good with a nice cup of black tea.

Leave a Reply

