You are a Sunday morning.

There was a time in my life that Maroon 5’s song Sunday Morning was my favorite song of all time. Yes, despite Adam Levine’s pathetically nasal voice, this song was my favorite. (Okay, I will admit to having a soft spot for Maroon 5. Please don’t persecute me for it).

That maybe all I need
In darkness she is all I see
Come and rest your bones with me
Driving slow on Sunday morning
And I never want to leave

  

What is it about the idea of a Sunday morning that’s so appealing? There have to be at least 5 songs written about this phenomenon. Another one I like is Rivermaya’s Sunday Driving:

I think about you as the / Sun blinks between the trees/ that waltz in the gentle breeze

When I think of a Sunday morning, I think of waking up at ten o’clock with bright yellow sunlight blazing through the windows. I think of the sound of ruffling sheets, sunny side up eggs, and a leisurely stay at the breakfast table. Of standing outside and just taking a deep breath, closing my eyes and hugging my arms to myself. I think of Sunday mornings and I think of time passing slowly and the soft, slightly damp feeling of holding someone’s hand.

I don’t know a non-cheesy way to say that I’m in love, so I’ll just say that I’m in a good place right now with someone very special. :) After swearing to myself that I would under no circumstances enter yet another long-distance relationship, (or at the very least, swearing off them) here I am again, sending kisses through Skype, practicing my letter-writing skills, and daydreaming about a certain time in the year when I’ll know I’ll smile ear to ear like a Cheshire cat. Though I’ve come to understand that in any relationship, hurt and sadness and whatever are inevitable, I’m not as worried as I used to be. What will happen will happen, as it always does. But for now, and hopefully for a little longer than now, he’s my Sunday morning, and I never want to leave.
  
  

I would gladly hit the road get up and go if I knew
That someday it would lead me back to you

Leave a Reply

